Saturday, May 22, 2010

Blood Promises

Hmmm, I just finished Blood Promises by Richelle Mead. That is the fourth part to Vampire Academy. Truth be told it DRAGGED. I was with Rose and her quest. I understood, she made a promise to Dimitri and she would not be able to rest until she fulfilled her promise. Well her time with the Belikov's and her time as a blood whore just bored me. There were times during the book that I would tear up because I couldn't imagine what she was going through. Dimitri in her eyes was dead. I don't think I could ever handle that. When she met the shadow kissed couple and received the ring, I just knew that ring was going to have an effect on Dimitri. For some reason I expected him to be cured in this novel. I also knew even though Dimitri was Strigoi, he still loved Rose. The way she expected him to be completely evil and he wasn't broke my heart. Her conflict, should she kill him or is there hope? In the end I knew as she did there was no hope, He had to die. I'm happy that Richelle didn't completely kill off Dimitri though. I'm not sure if I can handle Rose with Adrian. I love her relationship with Dimitri. I hope in Spirit Bound, the next book, she finds a cure for him. That might be hoping for too much of a happy ending, but I can't help but want to see Rose happy. She has been through so much. She lost her first love, might go crazy because she is bound to Lissa, and is not fully sure of her place in the world.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Holy Crap Shadow Kiss


Wow is what I have to say after reading Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead. This is the third part to her Vampire Academy series. This story follows Rose, Lissa, Dimitri and Christian through their "adventures". I'm not sure if that is what I should be calling them though. Rose starts to learn what it really means to be Shadow Kissed. She finds out that she will eventually become crazy from Lissa's use of powers. She also finds out because she had died once she has a connection to the after life. A connection that gets stronger as she kills. She can now sense Strigoi and see ghosts. Strigoi attack the school while Mason warns her from the dead. During the attack the Strigoi kidnap a few of the people off campus. Of course a rescue mission ensues, where Dimitri is attacked. Rose finds out that Dimitri became a Strigoi. Well of course I was crying like a baby. Screaming to the heavens "WHY Dear God WHY!" I'm upset, come on who wouldn't be? I feel so bad for Rose. Her love is pretty much dead. The book ends with Rose running away because she believes she has to kill Dimitri. In the first book he claims that is what he would want. Yes I shed tears during this part as well. C'mon knowing the love of your life is changed for the worse, now she is on a mission to kill him. This book definitely did not end on a happy note, for that I am glad. Don't get me wrong I love books that end happily, but just having such a depressing ending actually left me with a good feeling. I want it to resolve happily. I don't want her to kill Dimitri, but with Richelle I now know that I will be surprised. I like surprises. I already have a copy of Blood Promises from the library. If you have read any of these posts you have to notice what a nerd I am. I will start this novel right away. AHHH I'm so excited!

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

The Reckoning


Well ladies and gents I completed The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong this morning. Guess What?? I loved it of course. I know what some of you who have read it already are going to say. Kelley didn't complete some story lines, yada yada. Who cares? Those who know Kelley's writing should know that she always likes to bring in new characters. There is going to be a new series that are going to delve more into the Edison Group Experiments. The Reckoning is the third and last book of the Darkest Powers Trilogy. Chloe Saunders is the main protagonist in these novels. Maybe I loved it because Chloe finally uses her powers to save herself and her friends. Maybe I love it because she finally chooses the right brother Derek. Maybe I love it because Derek finally completes his change. Maybe I love it because Tori finally is one of them. I really hope Kelley decides to bring Chloe and Derek back. It doesn't have to be soon, it could be later after her eighth YA book or even bring them back in her Adult world. I trust Ms. Armstrong's judgment so far the only character I don't really like is Hope and Cassandra. I'm super excited about Waking the Witch. I have been waiting for Savannah to have her own novel. Now that she finally has I cannot wait to tackle it.
TT4N

Sunday, May 16, 2010

Dead in the Family

Friday night I finished up Dead in the Family. Since I love being honest, I was disappointed. I love Sookie books and look forward to them every year. This book lacked action. All Sookie really did is attend funerals and babysit. I did enjoy it as I do every Sookie book, but it just missed the action the other books had. This story did tie up loose ends and help create drama that you know will end up being in the next Sookie book. I wish I had finished this book with the happy feeling you get when you finish a really great book. Especially when that book is a series and you cannot wait for the next one. I didn't get that when I finished Dead in the Family, I got the "Where is the rest?" feeling. I never enjoy that feeling especially when it is one of my favorite series.

Friday, May 14, 2010

I'm Sorry Georgina

I just finished up Succubus Blues. My feelings for this book are mixed. I had to push myself through some parts. I feel like the reasons for Georgina becoming a succubus were not all that reasonable. I understand she hurt her husband but really? I enjoyed her and Seth though. Their conversations were witty and Seth is a great character. It seems like I was supposed to feel bad for Georgina, but I just couldn't muster the strength. I'm going to try to read Succubus on Top which is the second part to the Georgina Kincaid series, just won't rush to it. I have started to read Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris which is the tenth Sookie Stackhouse book. I love Sookie and I can't wait to finish this one.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Vampire Academy

The reason I have read so much this week is because I am sick. There is nothing better to do whenever you're sick really than read. On Monday I read Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, Tuesday I read Frostbite the second part to Vampire Academy. I also read Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber. I'm going to be honest about Vampire Kisses. I did not enjoy it at all. I was bothered by the goth girl and her perfect vampire boyfriend. Raven(the main character) has a great attitude, but she didn't fully win me over. I wonder if it is because I am an older woman reading a YA book. I just wasn't feeling it and did not continue with the series even though I had borrowed all three. Vampire Academy on the other hand is delicious. I love Rose and Lissa. They have a strange relationship which to me creates depth. I still have three more books to catch up but I am so excited to see where these girls are headed.

Reading Blues

Well everyone I'm currently reading Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead. This is my first time tackling this book, though not the first time I tackle this author. So far this book is good and boring at the same time. The main character is really getting no sympathy from me yet. I want to love her though. I want to see her happy. I am conflicted. It could also be that I am dying because yesterday I read Frostbite. This is also by Richelle Mead, her second book to her YA series Vampire Academy. I read it yesterday and couldn't put it down. I love Rose and Dmitri. I finished that book around 1pm. I ran to my nearest library, which in fact wasn't that close. Logging on to my library account before I left, I drove as fast as I can to the closest one that had the lovely word AVAILABLE next to it. Turns out they didn't have it. Of course me being the addict that I am I checked the computer again for another close library. Turns out not so close, so I waited til after work and jetted there. Well, they did not have my book either. Disappointment churns in my gut and that could be possibly why I am not enjoying Succubus Blues as much as I should. I know what you are thinking I should have just put the book on hold to save myself the trouble. Well I am a nerd, I have my holds completely filled up! Hopefully I will have that book soon.

Welcome

Hi,
I would like to welcome everyone who loves to read Urban/Paranormal Romance Fiction. I love to read and that is my fave genre. This blog is for those that might really care about my opinion, or for those that are just interested in what someone else has to say about the books that they love. I was born a nerd. I welcome all nerds and non nerds to my new wonderful blog.